Spam me baby one more time

The retard of the week is yellowpagesnationwide.com, who gifted me with about 5,000 pieces of referral spam. Blocked in my htaccess file. So far, the “referrer retard”-part of my htaccess looks like this:

RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} phiberweb\.com [OR] RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} kooqoo\.com [OR] RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} beterbeter\.com [OR] RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} yellowpagesnationwide\.com [OR] RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} wholesale4\.com RewriteRule .* - [F,L]

May all spammers have their balls chewed off by a rabid chihuahua.

Update: A comment to this entry leads me to believe that they didn’t intend this sort of “marketing,” so I shift the blame to a clueless marketer they hired. I hope they don’t use the same marketer again.

5 Comments

5 Responses

  1. Arcterex says:

    You’re lucky, I only seem to get referrer spam from porn sites :( sigh

  2. Tomas says:

    They hit you with FIVE THOUSAND referer entries? And they figured that your reaction to that would be an uncontainable urge to uhm.. buy something from them? What part of their reptile brains are these guys thinking with?

  3. Nathan Ostgard says:

    The part of the brain we aren’t aware of, I guess. I just came across this post on Google today and we have no such referral spamming campaign to our knowledge. If anything, it must be one of our third party advertising associates that’s doing it… I’m in charge of all of the programming and technical details here, so anything would have had to go through me. I hate this stuff as much as you. :/

    Hopefully you’ll respond to my email so I can get the details of this and figure out why it’s happening. I definitely don’t want us to become retard of the week for anyone else…

  4. John Taschen says:

    I have been using this site and their yellow pages china for a couple years now and I never have been spammed or even solicited by them. I think they have a great web site and its great to use them for free leads. Just thought I would leave a note….

  5. And still you feel a burning need to have their site as your URL? Smells like astroturfing to me. I’m editing it out.

Leave a Reply

If this is your first time commenting here, your comment must be manually approved before it will appear.

You can use Textile formatting to mark up your comment. You can also use these XHTML tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>